Podcasts

Hello everyone,

I hope all of you had a great Canada Day, and a great fourth of July for my American friends.

This week I’d like to discuss an important part of how I’ve achieved my workflows. You see, many of the apps I use were referred to me through a series of podcasts I’ve been listening to throughout the year. So this week I’m going to talk about some of my favourite podcasts.

First up is Mac Power Users. This podcast is hosted by David Sparks and Katie Floyd. I refer to it for everything Mac- related. In their episodes, David and Katie include everything from generating Hazel scripts to ‘Spring cleaning your Mac’ episodes. This podcast introduced me to Hazel, an application that has saved me hours of tedious work on my Mac. For Apple news and how-to’s take a look at this podcast.

Up next: Young PR Pros. Host Kristine Simpson was kind enough to have me as a guest on her fifth episode shortly after the podcast launched. Kristine has been been producing the popular ‘Iniside PR’ podcast for some time, and Young PR Pros is her look on the world of PR podcasting. As its name suggests, the podcast is geared toward a younger audience of public relations practitioners. It has proved particularly useful to me during my second semester at Algonquin College. Kristine frequently discusses the juggling act of a life in PR with her guests on the show. If you’re a student or a young professional looking to get some insight into the world of PR, I strongly recommend having a listen.

Finally, I’d like to mention the 70 Decibels network. I stumbled onto this network shortly after the Mikes on Mics podcast joined it. It’s hosted by Mike Hurley who (to my knowledge) appears on and produces the majority of the shows. Some of the other podcasts on the network that I’ve had a chance to listen to are the App Orchard, Enough, and Write for your Life. If you have any desire to learn a thing or two about productivity flows, Mac rumors, applications, or anything in between I’d advise you to check out the 70 Decibels network.

Well, that’s it for me! Stay tuned, Ashlea and I are excited to post new content from some very interesting guest posters in the upcoming weeks. If you’d like to be featured or have a guest post of your own on DASH Communications, e-mail one of us at: dave.a.gauthier@gmail.com or ashlea.lecompte@gmail.com. See you guys next week.

Dave

About davegauthier

I am a student of the public relations program at Algonquin college.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Podcasts

  1. Thanks for the mention Dave! We enjoyed having you on the show and we can’t wait to have you on again. In the short while since we had you on your blog has already grown! Great job!

Leave a Reply

