OmniFocus

Hello all!

This week I’d like to give you guys my first impressions on a new app I’ve finally decided to purchase.

The app is called OmniFocus.

Now, most of you already know that I’m a heavy user of Evernote. So why bring in another task managing/ productivity app? I think it’s because I’ve always used Evernote as a task management app, but its best features are really in note taking. It’s time to divide the roles of my work appropriately and use the programs the way they have designed to be used.

OmniFocus is a heavy duty task-managing app available on the Mac platform, with versions available for the iPad and iPhone as well. As it’s one of the more revered and heavily used task management apps out there, it comes with a hefty price tag. OmniFocus for the Mac rings up with an $80 price tag. I picked up my copy from the app store on a half price discounted weekend. The iPad and iPhone versions sell at $40 and $20, respectively.

Obviously with cross-platform integration comes great wireless syncing between your devices. For the moment though, I’m just sticking with the Mac application until I’ve had a better chance to test out how powerful and capable OmniFocus is. Bearing that in mind, I’ll have a full review once the school semester has kicked off this fall.

Right now I’ve been able to create simple to-do lists in the app. The ‘inbox’ section seems to be the ‘home screen’ where you create out tasks and to-do lists. After you’ve created these lists, OmniFocus allows you to effortlessly arrange and organize them into projects. Due dates and locations are also built into a reminder-like system. I’m assuming that if I get into the habit of assigning a date with new tasks, I’ll be able to experience the intended functionality of the system.

OmniFocus also has built-in folders. The app encourages you to create themed folders where you can organize a variety of projects/lists ranging in topic from ‘work’ to ‘evening’ to ‘people’ to ‘Mac’. Also offered is a built-in template that has, so far, allowed me to create tasks for things like this post, and even tonight’s groceries. It’s nice to be able to use the same app for those kinds of things. Up until now, anything of importance was stored on Evernote’s servers, which can (admittedly) sometimes be a little slow to launch on iOS.

All in all my first couple of days with OmniFocus have looked promising. I’ll be posting a fill review shortly, so look out for that!

Dave

About davegauthier

I am a student of the public relations program at Algonquin college.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

