Welcome!

Hello all!

I’m very happy to launch the DASH Communications blog this week. Ashlea and myself are very anxious to start publishing some exciting and creative content for all of you. DASH Communications will be updated as a weekly blog. You can expect to hear from us frequently, and from a few professionals within our industry. We encourage you to send in questions and topics you would like to see us, or others, write about on here.

So, let’s get to it.

Dave

Dropbox

I thought I would start off with an app that has become essential to the running of this blog, and for collaboration in general.

That app is Dropbox. Now, Dropbox is available on nearly all mobile platforms. I use it on my iPhone, iPad and Mac, but it also has a web-based component for those that prefer it.

Dropbox was founded in 2007, and is primarily known today as a file hosting service that allows the user to sync their content through its Internet services. This service is more often referred to as ‘the cloud’. The cloud allows users to reach their content on any of their mobile devices, or even anyone else’s as long as the foreign device is able to connect to Dropbox.

So, how do I use it personally?

When drafting anything from blog posts to editing basic homework documents, I’m able to save any sort of document and upload it to my Dropbox account.

I typically start my documents on either my iPad or iPhone. That’s mostly because I usually take class notes on my iPhone. I use both mobile devices to start pieces on the go or just to take down notes during meetings.

Once I’ve created the outline, I upload the file to Dropbox. This takes about 10 seconds. By the time I get to my Mac, the sync is already complete, and I’m able to pull up the document and refine it right away.

Now, the cloud isn’t really a new concept anymore. The (not so) secret to Dropbox’s success is its take on collaboration.

Dropbox easily allows its users to add shared folders and files. So once I’ve finished with my work on a group project, I upload the file to that project’s respective folder. All the participants are notified via push notification, and are able to open the document immediately.

Creating a shared folder takes about as long as it does for a single file upload to sync through – no time at all. There are little to few limitations to Dropbox’s ‘freemium’ business models. Users of the application are permitted to use up to 18GB per month before running out of free space. That’s more spaced than I’ve used in the past year.

Well, that’s my app for this week. What do you think? Do you use Dropbox? Will you start to after reading this? Do you use an alternative cloud based app? I’d love to hear about it.

Dave

About davegauthier

I am a student of the public relations program at Algonquin college.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

